PHMSA Pipeline Modernization Grants

Within the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act signed on November 15, 2021, is a new Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) grant program exclusively for publicly- and community-owned gas utilities: The Natural Gas Distribution Infrastructure Safety and Modernization Grant Program. The program funds the repair, replacement, and rehabilitation of existing pipeline infrastructure, in addition to certain equipment purchases. Participation in the program is limited to municipally or community-owned utilities. In March 2022, PHMSA distributed a letter to all publicly- and community-owned natural gas operators concerning their grant program. View PHMSA Letter to Utilities

PHMSA Grant Applications

PHMSA's Natural Gas Distribution Infrastructure Safety and Modernization Grant will run for 5 years starting in 2022 and will be open for applications each year. The 2022 application period opened in May and closed on August 8.


Post-Application Activities

After completing your application for the Natural Gas Distribution Infrastructure Safety and Modernization Grant Program, your system should consider asking your public officials to write a statement in support of your application. 
Email Template

PHMSA Grant Program Details & Resources 

PHMSA has a webpage dedicated to the Natural Gas Distribution Infrastructure Safety and Modernization Grant Program,
View PHMSA website

Read the text of the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act that created the PHMSA grant program.
Read Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (Page 1015)


PHMSA Acting Administrator Brown distributed a letter on May 4, 2022, to 40 states with answers to questions about cost-sharing, the inclusion of technical assistance costs, and types of equipment that may be eligible.
PHMSA Letter (May 2022)

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA) official FAQ about the FY 2022 Natural Gas Distribution Safety & Modernization Grant Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) (Updated July 29, 2022)
View (PDF)

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)'s Indirect Cost Information document.
View (PDF)


PHMSA distributed a letter to all publicly- and community-owned natural gas operators concerning their grant program.
PHMSA Letter to Utilities (March 2022)

PHMSA strongly encourages future grant applicants to complete the requirements below.
Pre-Application Checklist & Help


Implementation Resources


Please see the below example of a Procurement Checklist. This is specific to FEMA Grants, but may be beneficial for better understanding competitive bidding requirements for all Federal Grants.
Example Procurement Checklist

Each applicant selected for NGDISM grant funding under this notice must demonstrate, prior to the signing of the grant agreement, effort to consider and address physical and cyber security risks relevant to their natural gas distribution system and the type and scale of the project. APGA has put together a checklist to assist utilities.

View Security Checklist

To find the Department of Transportation's DBRA Certified Payroll Form, please go to the WH-347 section.

WH-347: DBRA Certified Payroll Form

The Davis-Bacon Act of 1931 requires contractors and subcontractors working on federally funded jobs to pay their laborers wages and benefits no less than what others locally pay their workers for similar projects.  Below is a page that offers tips about complying with Davis-Bacon requirements.

Five Facts on Davis-Bacon Wages Every Contractor Needs to Know

.

Need Help? Ask an APGA Associate Member!


Many APGA Associate Members are willing to help. Consider contacting:


Campos EPC, LLC
/ Mary Campos / Phone: 949-637-0129 / Email Address: mary.campos@camposepc.com / www.camposepc.com

Clark Engineering & Utility Solutions
/ Richard Clark, Phone: (731) 616-8846 and Email Address: rclark@clark-eus.com / Eddie Moffitt, Phone: (931) 580-1339 and Email Address: emoffitt@clark-eus.com /Pat Hickey (615) 785- 9067 and Email Address: phickey@clark-eus.com 


G2 Integrated Solutions / Al Giordano / Phone: (713) 260-4007 / Email Address: al.giordano@g2-is.com

Magnolia River Services /  Robbie Laney, Phone: (256)773-9420 and Email Address: robbie.laney@magnolia-river.com / David Love, Phone: (256) 773-9420 and Email Address: david.love@magnolia-river.com

McKinsey & Company / Elizaveta Malashenko, Email Address: elizaveta_malashenko@mckinsey.com/ Adam Barth, Email Address: adam_barth@mckinsey.com


Southern Cathodic Protection Company
/ John Piazza / Phone: (404) 312-3794 / Email Address:  JOHN@CATHODICPROTECTION.COM

Versiv Solutions /  Gina Rundo, Phone: (866) 8-VERSIV and Email Address: gina.rundo@versivsolutions.com