Our Committees

APGA's most important work is performed through committees, subcommittees and task forces comprised of volunteer APGA members.  Committees plan and oversee APGA's government relations work, the Annual Conference, the insurance program, and other activities that affect education, membership, marketing, and safety.

To view committee rosters, please login to the APGA Community at community.apga.org.

Codes & Standards

To advocate for safe and competitive codes and standards for the natural gas utility industry; and, to provide members timely notice of opportunities to consider and affect revisions to said codes and standards that may impact the competitive position of natural gas and end-use appliances.

Chair: Sue Kristjansson, Oak Ridge Utility District
Vice Chair: Brian Langille, Clearwater Gas System

Codes and Standards community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver

Direct-Use Task Group

APGA’s Direct-Use Task Group, which was established to identify threats and opportunities for natural gas direct-use and develop strategies to respond to the threats while  communicating the benefits that direct-use provides.

Direct-Use Task Group Community (On Basecamp, for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver


To brainstorm ideas, themes, authors and stories for the issues of THE SOURCE magazine.

Chair: Jon Mason, Borough of Chambersburg
Vice Chair: Scott Minter, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District

Contact: Audrey Anderson

Gas Supply

To encourage the exchange of information about the natural gas market among public gas systems, suppliers, pipelines, joint purchasing groups, and other local distribution systems.

Chair: Gordon King, Okaloosa Gas District
Vice Chair: Cliff Addison, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District

Gas Supply community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver

Government Relations

To direct and develop APGA legislative and regulatory activities while monitoring and managing efforts that further the interests of public gas systems before Congress and governmental agencies.

Chair: Samuel Davis, Jr., Lake Apopka Natural Gas District
Vice Chair: John Leary, Borough of Chambersburg

Government Relations community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver


To advocate the interests of public gas systems in Congress.

Chair: Staci Wilson, Illinois Public Energy Authority
Vice Chair: John Olshefski, Huntsville Utilities

Legislative Subcommittee community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver

Marketing and Sales

To assist member systems to increase the number of customers and appliances served; and, act as a clearing-house for marketing "best practices."

Chair: Nicole Graham, Municipal Gas Auhtority of Georgia
Vice Chair: Monica Marlow, Lake Apopka Natural Gas District

Marketing and Sales community (for committee members)

Contact: Audrey Anderson

Natural Gas Vehicles Committee

To disseminate NGV and fueling infrastructure information internally to APGA members and to advocate for NGVs and fueling infrastructure externally to businesses and local, state, and federal policymakers in order to significantly increase the near-term deployment of NGVs throughout the United States.

Chair: Matt Stennett, Middle Tennessee Natural Gas
Vice Chair: Lincoln Duncan, BHMG Engineers

NGV community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver

Operations and Safety

To enhance the safety and reliability of public gas system operations by providing information and services to APGA members and other stakeholders on the regulatory requirements and best practices for the design, construction, operation and maintenance of natural gas systems.

Chair: Pat Riley, Gibson County Utility District
Vice Chair: Alonzo Weaver, Memphia Light, Gas, and Water

Operations and Safety community (for committee members)

Contact: Erin Kurilla

Public Outreach Committee

The Media and Public Outreach Committee (MPOC) was established by the APGA Board of Directors at the July 2018 meeting to develop, coordinate and support APGA’s overarching communications and messaging on the benefits of direct use, pipeline safety, municipal and public gas system ownership, small operator concerns, and other appropriate matters of interest to APGA Members. 

Chair: Samuel Davis, Jr., Lake Apopka Natural Gas District
Vice Chair: John Leary, Borough of Chambersburg

Contact: Dave Schryver



To develop APGA's regulatory positions based on the policies reflected in the Association resolutions and on member needs and viewpoints; to communicate and advocate these positions in the relevant regulatory forums.

Chair: Donnie Sharp, Huntsville Utilities
Vice Chair: Terrell Booker, Laka Apopka Natural Gas District

Regulatory Subcommittee community (for committee members)

Contact: Dave Schryver